Festival of Wine

Have I mentioned how important wine is to Gagauzia? The production and export of wine make up the largest part of ATO Gagauzia’s economy. Nearly every single family makes their own wine. At the risk of the cliche, it really is life here. The first Sunday of every November nearly everyone in Gagauzia gets together to celebrate wine in a manner proportional to its significance, The Festival of Wine.

I honestly believe every single person in Ggaauzia was there.

The day started with a flag raising ceremony, the presentation of various diplomats and a few words from the Bashkan. Every wine producer was on hand with sample’s of this year’s wine for everyone to sample and to enter into the Grand Prix. First place was taken by Vino Komrata, as it was the previous four years. The fix is on, everyone is fairly certain. Most villages sent a delegation of musicians, dancers and food. My personal favorite was Kirsova with not one, not two, but three accordion players.

Then I ran into these guys and they forced me to drink wine with them drank lots of wine with me which I was more than happy to drink     Then they made me give my “countryman” wine and poise for a photo. True story.


There was also a concert of various music and dance ensembles which blared throughout all of Comrat all day long. Though I’m not sure exactly how much everyone was paying attention. People seemed rather inebriated before noon.The best part? I met and drank wine with the Bashkan himself (pictures in the video below).

No more Vice-Bashkan for this guy, moving up.

I made a video about it complete with pictures of me and the Bashkan drinking wine.

Enjoy, let me know what you thank.

-Me

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment